Menu Information on Counties in Ireland


county mayoBordered by the Atlantic Ocean on the west coast of Ireland, County Mayo is the third largest of Ireland's 32 counties. Mayo has the longest coastline of any county in Ireland and has a number of important islands and bays. Achill Island, Ireland's largest island, is connected to the mainland by a bridge. Ireland's highest cliffs are at Croaghaun on Achill island.

The total land area of Mayo is 5,585sq km and it has several significant mountain ranges including Mweelrea (814 metres), Nephin (806 metres) and Croagh Patrick (764 metres) - three of the highest points in Ireland.

The famous river Moy in Ballina is renowned for its salmon fishing, attracting salmon and trout anglers from all over the world to its rich waters every year.

Mayo is home to the Céide Fields, a 5000 year old Neolithic farm site. Located near Ballycastle in north Mayo, the Céide Fields has a Visitor Centre and Museum which explains the significance of the site and explores its historic system of agriculture and way of life.

Mayo has many beautiful unspoilt beaches, a large number of which are awarded the prestigious Blue Flag status every year.

Mayo Towns

Also check out Mayo Towns for information on all the areas of County Mayo.

Check out Ireland Roots for researching your Irish Family History.