Menu Information on Counties in Ireland


county cavanCounty Cavan - often referred to as the Breffni County - is one of three counties situated in the province of Ulster that is not part of Northern Ireland.

Cavan is said to have 365 lakes - one for each day of the year. There are also many rivers, streams and lakes giving visitors to the county excellent opportunities for fishing, cruising and swimming.

The Shannon Pot, the source of the River Shannon is located a few miles north of Dowra in County Cavan. St. Killian established a monastery in County Cavan.

Cavan comes from the gaelic word 'Cabhán' meaning a hollow.

Check out Ireland Roots for researching your Irish Family History.