Menu Information on Counties in Ireland


county antrimAntrim is one of six counties that form Northern Ireland, and one of nine counties that historically and geographically constitute the Province of Ulster. It is the 9th largest of the thirty-two counties of Ireland in terms of area, and it is the 2nd largest (after Dublin) in terms of population.

County Antrim forms the north-east corner of Ireland, where a channel only 13 miles wide separates Torr Head from the Scottish coast.

The Glens of Antrim offer beautiful rugged landscapes and the Giant's Causeway in northern Antrim is a World Heritage Site with an award winning Visitor Centre.

The fertile valley of the Bann and Lough Neagh (the largest lake in Ireland) occupy the western part of County Antrim. A major industry in Antrim is Bushmills Distillery which produces legendary whiskey. Many visitors to Antrim are attracted to the popular seaside resort Portrush.

Check out Ireland Roots for researching your Irish Family History.